11/06/2011 Driffield Airfield (EYSRS 2011 Round 3)

Report to follow, but RouteGadget is ready!
Local runners clinch main titles with one round to go.
The third round of Orienteering’s East Yorkshire Short Race Series took place on Saturday at the old Driffield Airfield. The area, now used for driver training provides some technical orienteering challenges and planner Ken Hutson from North Ferriby produced two testing courses on the open terrain. Organised by Humberside and Lincolnshire Orienteers (HALO), the event consisted of two races of 3km with a handicapped start calculated for the second race.
The Men’s Open was won by England Junior Zac Field, from Beverley and the Women’s Open was won by Skidby’s Helena Crutchley. In a very close finish Zac finished less than 30 seconds ahead of the experienced Brian Ward, with another junior Adam Bradbury finishing in third place less than a minute further behind.
Men’s Open
1. Zac Field Beverley 32:32
2. Brian Ward South Cave 32:58
3. Adam Bradbury Rotherham 33:50
In the overall standings there is only one category that will be decided in the final event, the leaders in five of the categories have unassailable leads. It is the Women’s Veteran class that will provide all the excitement at Hull University on July 23rd. After more then three and a half hours of competitive orienteering Christine Roberts of York and Mary Carrick of Wawne have exactly the same number of points.
The current class leaders are as follows:-

Open Z Field Beverley
Veteran P Bradbury Rotherham
Junior J Field Beverley
Open H Crutchley Skidby
Veteran C Roberts York
(tie) M Carrick Wawne
Junior Y Field Beverley

The final round of this year’s series take place at Hull University on July 23rd. (Registration and Starts will be from the University’s Sports Centre on Inglemire Lane). Beginner’s courses will be available at this event for anyone wanting to try the sport.
Further details at www.halo-orienteering.org.uk or by email to
HALO also runs a weekly club night at Beverley Longcroft School on Mondays (6:30pm to 8:00pm) during term-time. New members always welcome. (Details available from email and web-site contacts as above )
Full results
Neil Harvatt
Ken Hutson